Friday, September 26, 2008
Now it's easier to delete accounts
In the past, you couldn't delete your account from, well, within your account. Getting rid of a duplicate or test account required you to send in a formal request, and you were limited to deleting only profiles in your account. Now, you can delete an account with a click of a button in the "Edit Account and Data Sharing Settings" page. If you're the administrator of the account, and the account is not linked to any other Analytics or AdWords accounts, deleting your account is easy. (If you want to delete a linked Analytics account, please contact us.) Also, if you have many account administrators on your account, don't worry - they will receive an email notifying them of the account deletion. But they should let the other non-admin account users know that the account is deleted to avoid any confusion.
One last thing - please remove the tracking code from your site after you delete your account. Remember, there's no "undo" once you delete your account, so before you delete your account forever, we'll ask you to confirm that this is really what you want to do before you delete it.
We hope this feature makes it easier for you to manage your accounts! (Click the image below for a larger view.)